Nail psoriasis, what to do?

nail psoriasis or nail psoriasis

There are different types of psoriasis, including nail psoriasis.  It is also called nail psoriasis or nail psoriasis. This form of the disease affects a particular part of the body: the toenails and fingernails. There is deformation of the nails. The nail is dotted with a whitish spot. It becomes fragile and often flakes.

Nail psoriasis is manifested by brittle, yellowed, streaked nails. These are all signs that can reveal underlying health problems such as psoriasis disease.

First of all, we will explain the origin and causes of nail psoriasis. Then we will give you the possible treatments to treat it by local treatments. And finally our advice for acting on nail psoriasis and helping to eliminate it.

 

What is nail psoriasis, its symptoms?

Nail psoriasis, or nail psoriasisIs a variation of psoriasis. It is an autoimmune skin disease. It causes chronic inflammation of the skin. According to the France Psoriasis Association, 35 to 50% of people with psoriasis have skin manifestations of the disease on the nails (hands and/or feet). See also our article on palmar-plantar psoriasis. The surface area of ​​the body affected, in the case of nail psoriasis, is limited. However, we cannot speak of a minimal form of psoriasis. Its impact on patients' lives is significant.

Patients affected by nail psoriasis

Nail psoriasis would affect at one time or another 80 to 90% of people suffering from psoriasis (1). This skin damage to the nails can quickly become disabling from a “social” point of view. Indeed, yellow and damaged nails tend to make those around you uncomfortable. It is also from a “practical” point of view. In fact, nail psoriasis can make daily activities difficult.

Certain factors are aggravating. When the skin is attacked by chemical substances, for example. It weakens the hands for household chores and cooking. Among the aggravating factors, we will cite a abusive manicure, carried out at too high a frequency. In these cases, simple measures can be taken. Space out manicure sessions. Nails can also be protected by wearing gloves. Protection against moisture is recommended. Better to favor short nails.

Psoriasis can affect the fingertips. However, we will only talk about nail psoriasis when the nail is touched.

Symptoms of nail psoriasis

The nail grows at an accelerated rate. It is then subject to certain alterations. They are due to keratinization disorders – depending on the location of the psoriasis. The nail has small depressions on the surface. Sometimes, the skin damage is accompanied by transverse striations or longitudinal. There may also be a crumbling or peeling toenails or fingernails. The inflammation can also spread under the nail. The skin involvement of the disease is therefore obvious. In this case of psoriasis, the lesions are not in contact with air. They therefore heal with difficulty. On the other hand, nail psoriasis does not affect the nail matrix.

 

How does nail psoriasis manifest? What are the causes ?

Nail psoriasisGood to know: nail health is linked in particular to diet. Make sure you eat healthy, for the health of your nails. We speak of “thimble” nails or “furrows” when psoriasis affects the surface of the nail. We then observe streaks and irregularities on the nail. The surrounding skin is also slightly affected. Also think that the tobacco damages the nails. Contact with smoke and is not necessarily good for psoriasis.

When psoriasis affects the nail bed, four different types of lesions can appear:

  • orange/brown colored spots,
  • detachment of the nail (onycholysis),
  • thickening of the nail (hyperkeratosis),
  • crumbling of the nail (dystrophy).

The symptoms are progressive. Nail psoriasis appears as a spot on the nail. Then it will expand. It is essential to treat the lesions. Otherwise, psoriasis may develop. This form of the disease can cause severe outbreaks of psoriasis. The nail will begin to furrow, or even come loose. Nail psoriasis can quickly become very painful and unsightly. If you notice the above-mentioned symptoms, we recommend consulting a practitioner. He will thus be able to establish a reliable diagnosis.

 

How to recognize nail psoriasis on the hands and toes?

Nail psoriasis can actually affect both the hands and the toes of the patient. If the fingernails are affected, the toenails are not necessarily affected and vice versa. Whatever happens, the patient's quality of life is impacted.

 

Nail psoriasis affects the hands more often than the feet

Fingernails are generally more affected than those of the feet.

What does nail psoriasis look like?

Small holes in the nail, dice punctuation

In addition to pink spots or red patches, the nail can be studded with small holes on its surface. Punctuation like a thimble. Or again, it may present undulations. This particular aspect of the nail is often caused by nail psoriasis.

The classification of the degree of severity of psoriasis is established by measuring the surface area of ​​skin (or nail) affected. Thus, mild psoriasis covers less than 5% of the skin. For the nail, mild psoriasis means that not all the nails are affected, or even that the symptoms are barely apparent. The nail is just a little streaked, a little pitted.

When it comes to severe psoriasis, however, the symptoms are more significant. The nail is more flaky. In some cases it turns yellow. The prescribed treatment may then be taken orally. In the most severe forms of psoriasis, the dermatologist may use biotherapies. Retinoids or vitamin D derivatives are also frequently prescribed. However, be careful of the side effects. Especially for pregnant women, due to the risks for the fetus.

What is the difference between mycosis and psoriasis?

In fact, the diagnosis of nail psoriasis by a dermatologist is sometimes difficult. Patients' symptoms can be confused with those of a yeast infection. In both cases, abnormalities in nail color are noted. This is why a wise dermatologist should take a mycological sample. He will take a piece of a nail. Then he will cultivate it. The positive or negative result of a possible mycosis (a fungus) will then be noted. Microbial colonization of the nail will thus make it possible to confirm a diagnosis of mycosis.

Nail psoriasis or fungus?

The only way to know if you have nail psoriasis or nail fungus is toclinical examination by a dermatologist. Indeed, nail fungus is caused by the development of fungi under the nail. Therefore, a nail sample and a laboratory analysis will allow you to know if fungus is present.

If you already have psoriasis on other parts of the body, then there is a high chance that you have nail psoriasis. Mycosis and nail psoriasis are not treated in the same way.

Also note that a nail affected by psoriasis is fragile. It can therefore be more easily infected by a mycosis. In this case, both the fungus and the psoriasis of the nails must be treated.

 

How to treat nail psoriasis? What treatment for this type of psoriasis?

It is advisable to consult a general practitioner, a dermatologist or a naturopath. Especially if you are looking for specific medications for this part of the body.

There are, in traditional medicine, several drugs or chemical treatments, specific or not. They help treat nail psoriasis. Many of these medications are treatments that cause side effects that are harmful to health. Be careful not to confuse it with palmar-plantar psoriasis. It is similar to this type of psoriasis, but the symptoms are very different.

 

Nail psoriasis, the most effective natural treatment

Pso Natura Regenerative Complex natural care

To treat mild to moderate nail psoriasis, Pso Natura Regenerative Complex  provides a real solution. This 100% natural treatment formulated with Carapa procera oil has benefits antibacterial, anti-inflammatory et regenerative. It helps treat psoriasis of the nail, hands and feet in just 1 month. Its use is simple.

Twice a day, massage the nail with the treatment placed on the loofah sponge provided for 10 to 15 seconds. So, in just a few minutes a day, every day, the results will be felt.

Be careful if your nail is detached or torn off. We therefore recommend applying the treatment directly to the skin. Without using the loofah sponge. Leave it on for a few minutes then rinse. Exfoliating skin and nail cells with the loofah sponge may indeed be too abrasive.

Do not hesitate to add a fine dab of Pso Natura Rich Restructuring Cream. This special cream will hydrate the nail and help it regain its health.

For simple stains on the nail, the application of a varnish specially developed for nail psoriasis may be sufficient. Unfortunately, these types of products often take a long time to act (6 months). They are not enough to completely eliminate nail/ungual psoriasis.

You can complement the action of this type of nail polish with a daily moisturizing action. As with psoriasis in the rest of the body, staying hydrated is the key to healing skin cells. If possible, take the opportunity to take care of your fingers and toes. To help nail health, also consider a little treatment. yeast. Finally, remember to take care of your nails using a surgras soap.

 

Our advice for treating nail psoriasis

How to treat nail psoriasis naturally?

First of all, taking care of your nails requires careful hygiene. To avoid worsening psoriasis on the nails, here are our tips:

  • Keep nails short. Shocks and the introduction of dirt under the nail will be better avoided. Be careful when cutting them. Don't use brewer's yeast, for example. The latter contributes to rapid growth of nails.
  • Trimming brittle nails after a warm oily bath. The nail will be more flexible and easier to cut. It will be less brittle and will grow back faster and look more beautiful.
  • When the nail comes off. It leaves an open door for bacteria and yeast fungi. Wash your hands well. Dry the nails well. Protect them in case of manual work.
  • Wear gloves to protect hands and nails. Especially for washing dishes, gardening, etc.
  • Immerse your nails in salt water can be effective. You can prepare the bath yourself. Mix 300g of cooking salt in a liter of water. Take a foot and/or hand bath for 30 minutes. You can also add 2-3 handfuls of wheat starch. Rinse and grease with your special cream.
  • Eat healthy. You can also take food supplements. Taking care of yourself means taking care of your mind and your skin cells.

 

Nail psoriasis, varnish

In case of evenings, or holiday periods, you may want to apply polish to your nails. We advise you to apply a water-soluble protective varnish. This will help you avoid another flare-up. See an example of special psoriasis varnish.

 

Behaviors to avoid for nail psoriasis

If you want to avoid having psoriasis on your nails, here are the points to avoid.

Always apply a base to protect the nail. Applying false nails (gel, acrylic) or even applying nail polish of any kind is not recommended. In fact, they risk damaging or weakening the nail. Also be careful with the use of nail polish remover, which is often too aggressive for the skin.

Tobacco is an enemy for the epidermis of the fingers. Even more for the nails. The latter is the cause of yellow-brownish spots on the nail and the tip of the finger.

For toenails, protect them by wearing shoes. Avoid walking barefoot. Same thing when you're outside. At the beach or pool, consider wearing special shoes. They will protect feet and nails.

In the case of nail psoriasis, filing the nails is not recommended. The action could cause thickening of the nail.

 

Read also:

Information on psoriasis

Our psoriasis advice

Relieve gout psoriasis

Plaque psoriasis

Facial psoriasis: 10 tips

Pso Natura Detox Capsules

Pso Natura shampoo

 

sources:

(1) France Psoriasis

Other related articles:

-20%

On your 1st order.
With code:

Psoriasis des ongles, que faire ?

psoriasis de l'ongle ou psoriasis unguéal

Il existe différents types de psoriasis, dont le psoriasis unguéal, aussi appelé psoriasis de l’ongle. Il concerne une partie du corps particulière : les ongles des pieds et des mains. L’ongle est parsemé d’un piqueté blanchâtre. Il se fragilise et souvent se feuillette.

Le psoriasis des ongles se manifeste par des ongles cassants, jaunis, striés. Ce sont autant de signes qui peuvent révéler des problèmes de santé sous-jacents tels la maladie du psoriasis.

Tout d’abord, nous vous expliquons l’origine et les causes du psoriasis unguéal. Ensuite, nous vous donnons les traitements possibles pour le soigner par traitements locaux et enfin, nos conseils.

 

Qu’est-ce que le psoriasis unguéal, ses symptômes ?

Le psoriasis unguéal, ou psoriasis des ongles, est une déclinaison du psoriasis. C’est une maladie de peau auto-immune. Elle provoque l’inflammation chronique de la peau. Selon l’Association France Psoriasis, 35 à 50% des personnes atteintes de psoriasis ont des manifestations cutanées de la maladie sur les ongles (mains et/ou pieds). Voir aussi notre article sur le psoriasis palmo-plantaire.

Le psoriasis unguéal toucherait à un moment ou un autre 80 à 90% des personnes souffrant de psoriasis (1). Cette atteinte cutanée des ongles peut rapidement devenir handicapante d’un point de vue « social ». En effet, des ongles jaunes et abimés ont tendance à mettre mal à l’aise l’entourage. Elle l’est également d’un point de vue « pratique ». De fait, le psoriasis unguéal peut rendre difficile des activités quotidiennes. Il fragilise les mains pour les tâches ménagères, en cuisine.

L’ongle croît de façon accélérée. II est alors sujet à certaines altérations – dues à des troubles de kératinisation – selon la localisation du psoriasis. Il présente des petites dépressions à la surface des ongles. Parfois, l’atteinte cutanée s’accompagne de stries transversales ou longitudinale. Il peut également y avoir un effritement ou un décollement des ongles de pieds ou des mains. L’inflammation peut aussi s’étendre sous l’ongle. L’atteinte cutanée de la maladie est donc patente. Dans ce cas de psoriasis, les lésions ne sont pas en contact avec l’air et cicatrisent difficilement. Par contre, le psoriasis de l’ongle n’atteint pas la matrice de l’ongle.

 

Comment le psoriasis unguéal se manifeste-t-il ?

Psoriasis des onglesBon à savoir : la santé unguéale est liée notamment à l’alimentation. Veillez déjà à manger sain, pour la santé de vos ongles. On parle d’ongles en forme de « dés à coudre » ou de « sillons » lorsque le psoriasis touche la surface de l’ongle. On constate alors des stries et des irrégularités sur l’ongle. La peau autour est légèrement touchée elle aussi. Pensez aussi que le tabac abîme les ongles en contact avec la fumée et n’est pas nécessairement bon pour le psoriasis.

Quand le psoriasis atteint le lit de l’ongle, quatre différents types de lésions peuvent apparaître :

  • des taches de couleur orange/marron,
  • un détachement de l’ongle (onycholyse),
  • épaississement de l’ongle (hyperkératose),
  • un émiettement de l’ongle (dystrophie).

Les symptômes sont progressifs. Le psoriasis unguéal se présente comme une tache sur l’ongle puis va s’agrandir. Si on ne traite pas les lésions alors le psoriasis va se développer. Puis l’ongle va commencer à se sillonner, voire se détacher. Le psoriasis unguéal peut vite devenir très douloureux et disgracieux. Si vous constatez les symptômes mentionnés précédemment sur vos ongles, nous conseillons de consulter un praticien afin d’établir un diagnostic.

 

Comment reconnaître un psoriasis de l’ongle sur les mains et les orteils ?

Le psoriasis de l’ongle peut effectivement aussi bien toucher les mains que les orteils du patient. Si les ongles de la main sont atteints, les ongles des orteils ne le sont pas nécessairement et vice-versa. Quoi qu’il arrive, la qualité de vie du patient est impactée.

 

Le psoriasis de l’ongle, touche plus souvent les mains que les pieds

Les ongles des mains sont généralement davantage atteints que ceux des pieds.

 

De petits trous dans l’ongle, une ponctuation en dé

Outre des taches rosées ou des plaques rouges, l’ongle peut être constellé de petits trous sur sa surface. Une ponctuation en dé, comme un dé à coudre. Ou bien encore, il peut présenter des ondulations. Cet aspect particulier de l’ongle relève souvent du psoriasis unguéal.

 

Psoriasis léger de l’ongle ou psoriasis sévère ?

La classification du degré de sévérité du psoriasis s’établit à la mesure de la surface de peau (ou d’ongle) affectée. Ainsi, le psoriasis léger couvre moins de 5% de la peau. Pour l’ongle, un psoriasis léger signifie que tous les ongles ne sont pas touchés, voire que les symptômes sont peu apparents.  L’ongle est juste un peu strié, un peu piqueté.

Lorsqu’il est question de psoriasis sévère par contre, les symptômes sont plus prégnants, l’ongle est plus feuilleté, voire devient jaune. Le traitement prescrit pourra alors être par voie orale, voire faire appel aux biothérapies pour ces cas de psoriasis. Les rétinoïdes ou les dérivés de la vitamine D sont également fréquemment prescrits. Attention toutefois aux effets secondaires, surtout pour la femme enceinte, en raison des risques pour le fœtus.

 

Quelle différence entre le psoriasis unguéal et la mycose des ongles ?

De fait, le diagnostic du psoriasis de l’ongle par le dermatologue est parfois malaisé. Les symptômes peuvent se confondre avec ceux d’une mycose. Voilà pourquoi un dermatologue avisé devra procéder à un prélèvement mycologique. Il prélèvera un bout d’ongle, le mettre en culture pour constater si la culture de mycose (un champignon) est positive ou négative. La colonisation microbienne de l’ongle permettra de confirmer un diagnostic de mycose.

La seule façon de savoir si vous souffrez d’un psoriasis des ongles ou de mycose des ongles est l’examen clinique par un dermatologue. En effet, la mycose des ongles est provoquée par le développement de champignons sous l’ongle. Par conséquent, un prélèvement de l’ongle et une analyse en laboratoire, permettront de savoir s’il y a présence de mycose. Si vous êtes déjà atteint de psoriasis sur d’autres parties du corps, alors il y a une forte probabilité que vous souffriez de psoriasis unguéal. Mycose et psoriasis unguéal ne se traitent pas de la même façon.

A noter aussi qu’un ongle atteint de psoriasis est fragile et peut donc plus facilement être infesté par une mycose. Dans ce cas-là, il faut traiter à la fois la mycose et le psoriasis des ongles.

 

Comment soigner un psoriasis de l’ongle ?

Il est avisé de consulter un généraliste, un dermatologue ou un naturopathe, avant de se lancer dans tout soin des ongles. Surtout si vous cherchez des médicaments spécifiques pour cette partie du corps.

Il existe, dans la médecine traditionnelle, plusieurs médicaments ou traitements chimiques pour soigner le psoriasis des ongles. Nombre de ces médicaments sont des traitements provoquant des effets secondaires néfastes pour la santé. Attention à ne pas confondre avec le psoriasis palmo-plantaire qui se rapproche de ce type de psoriasis.

 

Psoriasis ongles, traitement naturel le plus efficace

Complexe Pso Natura pour le psoriasis

Pour soigner un psoriasis unguéal léger à modéré, nous avons sélectionné le Complexe Régénérateur Pso Natura. Ce soin 100% naturel formulé à base d’huile de Carapa procera possède des bienfaits antibactériens, anti-inflammatoires et régénérants. Il permet d’aider à traiter le psoriasis de l’ongle, des mains et des pieds en 1 mois seulement. Son utilisation est simple.

Deux fois par jour, il convient de masser l’ongle avec le soin déposé sur l’éponge loofah fournie pendant 10 à 15 secondes. Ainsi, en quelques minutes par jour, chaque jour, les résultats se feront sentir.

Attention, si votre ongle est décollé ou arraché alors nous vous conseillons d’appliquer le soin directement sur la peau. Laissez agir quelques minutes puis rincer. L’exfoliation des cellules de la peau et de l’ongle avec l’éponge loofah risquant d’être trop abrasive.

N’hésitez pas à déposer une fine noisette de la Crème Riche Restructurante Pso Natura. Cette crème spéciale permettra d’hydrater l’ongle et l’aider à retrouver sa santé.

Pour de simples taches sur l’ongle, l’application d’un vernis spécialement développé pour le psoriasis unguéal peut suffire. Malheureusement, souvent ces types de produits sont longs à agir (6 mois).  Il ne suffisent pas à éliminer totalement le psoriasis des ongles / unguéal.

Vous pouvez compléter l’action de ce type de vernis à ongle par une action hydratante quotidienne. Comme pour le psoriasis du reste du corps, s’hydrater est la clef pour soigner les cellules de la peau. Profitez-en si possible pour prendre soin de vos doigts et orteils. Pour aider à la santé des ongles, pensez aussi à une petite cure de levure de bière. Enfin, pensez à prendre soin des ongles en utilisant un savon surgras.

 

Nos conseils de traitement du psoriasis unguéal

Comment soigner le psoriasis des ongles naturellement ?

Tout d’abord, prendre soin de ses ongles passent par une hygiène précautionneuse. Si vous ne voulez pas aggraver le psoriasis sur vos ongles, nous vous conseillons d’appliquer les conseils suivants :

  • Garder les ongles courts afin de limiter les chocs et l’introduction de salissures sous l’ongle. Être prudent en les coupant. N’utilisez pas la levure de bière par exemple. Car cette dernière contribue à une pousse rapide des ongles.
  • Couper les ongles cassants après un bain tiède huileux. L’ongle sera plus souple et plus facile à couper. Sachez également que la levure de bière, grâce à ses qualités nutritionnelles, favorise la repousse des ongles. Ces derniers sont moins cassants, ils repoussent plus vite et sont plus beaux.
  • Lorsque l’ongle se détache, il laisse une porte ouverte aux bactéries et aux champignons de levure. Il est donc important de bien se laver les mains, bien sécher les ongles et de les protéger en cas de travail manuel.
  • Portez des gants pour protéger vos mains et vos ongles lorsque vous faites la vaisselle, du jardinage, etc.
  • Immerger ses ongles dans l’eau salée peut être efficace. On peut préparer soi-même le bain en mélangeant 300g de sel de cuisine dans un litre d’eau. Faire un bain de pied et de mains pendant 30 minutes. On peut également y rajouter 2-3 poignées d’amidon de blé. Rincer et graisser avec votre crème spéciale.
  • Manger sainement. Vous pouvez prendre également des compléments alimentaires. Prendre soin de vous, c’est prendre soin de votre esprit et des cellules de votre peau.

 

Psoriasis ongle, vernis

En cas de soirées, ou de périodes de fêtes, vous souhaiterez peut-être appliquer du vernis sur vos ongles. Nous vous conseillons d’appliquer un vernis protecteur hydrosoluble. Cela vous permettra d’éviter une nouvelle poussée. Voir un exemple de vernis spécial psoriasis.

 

Des comportements à éviter pour ne pas favoriser le psoriasis sous l’ongle

Si vous souhaitez éviter d’avoir du psoriasis au niveau des ongles sachez qu’il y a un certain nombre de choses à éviter.

La pose de faux ongles (gels, semi permanents) voire même la pose de vernis à ongles en tout genre sont déconseillées. Il est conseillé de toujours appliquer une base pour protéger l’ongle. En effet, elles risquent d’abîmer et de fragiliser l’ongle. Attention également à l’utilisation du dissolvant. Les dissolvants sont trop agressifs pour la peau de façon générale.

Le tabac, sans attente, est un ennemi pour l’épiderme des doigts, plus précisément pour les ongles. Ce dernier est à l’origine de taches jaunes-brunâtres sur l’ongle et le bout du doigt.

Si les ongles de pied sont touchés, protégez-les en portant des chaussures pendant des activités vigoureuses. Procédez de la même manière lorsque vous êtes à l’extérieur. Envisagez de porter des chaussures spéciales pour protéger les pieds et les ongles lorsque vous allez à la plage ou à la piscine.

Il n’est pas recommandé de limer les ongles pour essayer de réduire leurs épaississements. Cela risque d’entraîner l’effet inverse. Les ongles vont devenir encore plus épais.

 

Lire aussi :

Informations sur le psoriasis

Nos conseils psoriasis

Soulager le psoriasis en goutte

Le psoriasis en plaque

Psoriasis du visage : 10 conseils

Les Gélules Detox Pso Natura

Le shampoing Pso Natura

 

Sources:

(1) France Psoriasis

Autres articles en relation :